Rowland leads the field in Berlin

About Formula E

Created in 2014, the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is the world’s only all-electric single-seater series. It represents a vision for the future of the automotive industry, serving as the framework for research and development into electric vehicles, promoting sustainability and innovation.

Taking place near cultural and historical landmarks in some of the world’s most beautiful cities, such as London, Paris, Rome and New York, Formula E allows more accessibility to the public than other conventional series.

12 teams and 24 drivers make up the grid, including some of the biggest automotive brands, with the iconic Gen2 chassis and unique regulations guaranteeing exciting racing to attract new and younger fans. The series will be operating as an FIA World Championship in 2021 for the first time.

Formula E gives car manufacturers the opportunity to showcase their electric energy innovations in a racing environment, designing cars to the technical specification set out by the FIA. The series revolves around three principles: Energy, Environment and Entertainment, combining engineering, technology, sport, science, design, music and entertainment to drive towards an electric future.

Nissan has been a partner and shareholder of e.dams since the start of the 2018/19 campaign. Together, the team has won 2 races and finished 2nd in the Season 6 standings.

Rowland celebrates victory in Berlin

Race Format

Formula E uses a unique single-day format to cause minimal disruption to the city it is racing in. Starting with 2 free practice sessions (the first being 45 minutes and the second 30), the drivers qualify in 4 groups determined by championship order. They each get 1 lap at full power (250kW), with the fastest driver earning a bonus point.

The top 6 then progress to Super Pole, where each driver will complete another lap at full power with the pole-winning driver taking 3 points.

The race lasts 45 minutes +1 lap, in which drivers must use the exclusive Attack Mode feature whereby an extra 35kW power boost is rewarded for driving through an off-line activation zone (the number of activations and length of the boost is determined by the FIA prior to each event).

5 drivers can also benefit from FanBoost, an extra burst of power voted for by the fans. A bonus point is available for the driver who sets the fastest lap.